The National - six essential songs playlist

4 June 2014

THE NATIONAL, who play the Festival on Wednesday July 16, are one of the few groups, if not the only group, of whom it can truly be said, ‘I prefer the later stuff’.

Although the band - Aaron (guitar and keyboard) and Bryce Dessner (guitar), and Scott (bass) and Bryan Devendorf (drums), and charismatic frontman Matt Berninger - released their debut in 2001, it was only with 2005’s magnificent Alligator that they hit their stride. They followed this with the equally good Boxer (2007), their commercial breakthrough High Violet (2010), and their masterpiece, 2013’s Trouble Will Find Me.

If you are unfamiliar with the band, or just want an excuse to hear some of their greatest songs, check out this playlist (complied by Kernan Andrews) of six of the best from the Brooklyn sextet.